At its meeting on 29 May 2019, the Federal Council opened the Dispatch on the introduction of the automatic exchange of information on financial accounts (AIA) with 19 other states and territories.

The entry into force of the AIA with the states and territories listed below is scheduled for 1 January 2020, with a first data exchange to take place in 2021.

The Swiss AIA network is to be expanded to include the following 19 states and territories: Albania, Azerbaijan, Brunei Darussalam, Dominica, Ghana, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Macao, Maldives, Nigeria, Niue, Pakistan, Peru, Samoa, Sint Maarten, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey and Vanuatu. Since Oman has declared its support for AIA since the opening of the consultation procedure (cf. our contribution of 8 December 2018), it is also listed as a partner state.

The Federal Council also approved the report on the review mechanism for the standard-compliant implementation of the AIA by partner states. The report will now be submitted to the parliamentary commissions for consultation. The Federal Council will then decide whether under certain circumstances no data should be exchanged with a partner state.

The press release and other documents are available here.